June 3-4, 2014

African Union Conference Center

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia





On June 3-4, 2014, the Government of Ethiopia and the Government of the United States will co-host the U.S.-Africa Energy Ministerial (AEM) in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia.  AEM will focus on the theme of “Catalyzing Sustainable Energy Growth in Africa” and provide a forum for major announcements and commitments that support energy development throughout Africa. The Ministerial will showcase African leadership in energy development, explore strategies and effective practices across Africa and the United States for accelerating development of clean energy sources and adoption of energy efficient technologies, review best practices in oil and gas resource development, and highlight progress on the President Obama’s Power Africa Initiative.


The AEM is expected to draw minister-level attendance from sub-Saharan African and North African countries, as well as senior U.S. government officials, multilateral development partners, regional and sub-regional African energy organizations, academia, civil society, and U.S. and African private sector leaders. The Ministerial will provide opportunities for government-to-government, government-to-industry, and company-to-company informational exchanges, and networking on topics such as clean energy technologies, increased power generation, rural electrification, regional integration, oil and gas development, policies and regulatory issues, investment opportunities, and financing.


The African Energy Ministerial will include panel presentations, high-level plenary sessions, break-out discussions, and a ministers-only meeting. AEM will also feature a U.S.-Africa Energy Expo Center in which U.S. and African companies can highlight their technologies and business solutions.


U.S. Secretary of Energy, Dr Ernest Moniz’s Invitation Letter to the U.S.-Africa Energy Ministerial click here


Ministers Confirmed To-Date

H.E. Dr. Ernest J. Moniz, U.S. Secretary of Energy, U.S. Department of Energy. Co-Host


H. E.  Alemayehu Tegenu, Minister of Water, Irrigation and Energy, Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia.  Co-Host


H.E. Dr. Elham M.A. Ibrahim, Commissioner for Infrastructure and Energy - African Union


H.E. Ahmed Messili, Secretary General, Ministry of Energy - People's Democratic Republic of Algeria


H.E. João Baptista Borges, Minister of Energy and Water - Republic of Angola


H.E. Barthélémy Kassa, Minister of Energy, Petroleum Research, and Mines - Republic of Benin


H.E. Boikobo Bashi Paya, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Minerals, Energy, and Water - Republic of Botswana


H.E. Come Manirakiza, Minister of Energy and Mining - Republic of Burundi


H.E. Humberto Santos de Brito, Minister of Energy - Republic of Cabo Verde


H.E. Djerassem Le Bemadjiel, Minister of Petroleum, Mines, and Energy - Republic of Chad


H.E. N'Dri Koffi, Chief of Staff, Ministry of Oil and Energy - Republic of Cote d'Ivoire


H.E. Mr. Ali Yacoub Mahamoud, Minister of Energy in charge of Natural Resources - Republic of Djibouti


H.E. Gabriel Mbaga Obiang Lima, Minister of Mines, Industry and Energy – Republic of Equatorial Guinea


H.E. Monsieur Guedon Désiré, Minister of Energy and Hydraulic Resources - Gabonese Republic


H.E. Edward Saja Sanneh, Deputy Minister of Energy - Republic of The Gambia


H.E. Emmanuel Armarh Kofi Buah, Minister of Energy and Petroleum - Republic of Ghana


H.E. Davis Chrichir, Secretary of Ministry of Petroleum and Energy - Republic of Kenya


H.E. Patrick Sendolo, Minister of Land, Mines, and Energy - Republic of Liberia


H.E. Lamissa Diabate, Secretary General, Ministry of Energy - Republic of Mali


H.E. Abdelkader Aamara, Minister of Energy, Mining, Water and Environment - Kingdom of Morocco


H.E. Salvador Namburete, Minister of Energy - Republic of Mozambique


H.E. Isak Katali, Minister of Mines and Energy - Republic of Namibia


H.E. Chinedu O. Nebo, Minister of Power - Federal Republic of Nigeria


H.E. Henri Ossebi, Minister of Energy and Water - Republic of Congo


H.E. Maimouna Seck, Minister of Energy - Republic of  Senegal


H.E. Mr. Joseph Nourrice, Ambassador of the Republic of Seychelles to Ethiopia - Republic of Seychelles


H.E. Jemma Nunu Kumba, Minister of Electricity, Dams, Irrigation, and Water Resources - Republic of South Sudan


H.E. Charles Kitwanga, Deputy Minister for Energy and Mineral Resources - United Republic of Tanzania


H.E. Dammipi Noupokou, Minister of Mines and Energy - Republic of Togo


H.E. Chris B. Yaluma, Minister of Mines, Energy, and Water Development - Republic of Zambia





For More Information Contact Leadership Africa USA

1627 K Street NW Suite 901, Washington DC 20006 - Email: info@leadershipafricausa.org - Phone: 1+202-296-1974